Discharge 2022: Key Digital Technologies Joint Undertaking
TA-9-2024-0277 · P9_TA(2024)0277 · PE753.500
Written by a language model from the full text only; every figure comes from the text. The paragraph links open the paragraph a statement rests on — check the text itself before relying on it.
Parliament grants discharge to the Executive Director of the Chips Joint Undertaking for the 2022 budget and approves the closure of the Key Digital Technologies Joint Undertaking's 2022 accounts.¶¶ A resolution sets out observations: the accounts are fair and legal, but the Joint Undertaking did not disclose members' contributions at programme level and should improve transparency.¶¶ It notes low payment implementation, delayed Horizon 2020 projects, unvalidated in-kind contributions, and calls for a time-scheduled action plan and better risk-based monitoring.¶¶¶
Key points
- Parliament grants the Executive Director of the Chips Joint Undertaking discharge for the implementation of the 2022 budget.¶
- Parliament approves the closure of the Key Digital Technologies Joint Undertaking's accounts for the financial year 2022.¶
- The Joint Undertaking's 2022 accounts present fairly its financial position and the underlying transactions are legal and regular.¶
- The Joint Undertaking did not disclose members' contributions at programme level or Participating States' contributions; it is called on to address this and improve transparency.¶
- Most private members' in-kind contributions remain to be validated (EUR 1 172,5 million).¶
- The Joint Undertaking fully committed the maximum Union operational contribution of EUR 1 169,7 million for Horizon 2020 grant agreements, with around EUR 139,2 million still to be paid.¶
- The Court of Auditors observed that the Joint Undertaking should establish a time-scheduled action plan for finalising projects approved under previous Multiannual Financial Frameworks.¶
- The Joint Undertaking should develop internal practical guidance on risk-based monitoring and on using the risk management module in COMPASS.¶
- The Joint Undertaking is called on to address weaknesses in the reinforced monitoring tool, ensuring control actions target identified risks and are followed up by a pre-defined deadline.¶¶
- In 2021 the Court issued three observations, of which two are closed; the open one concerns recruiting more staff to reach the planned 50 statutory staff by 2025.¶
Who is affected
- The Chips Joint Undertaking (formerly Key Digital Technologies Joint Undertaking): receives discharge and must address transparency and monitoring issues.¶¶¶
- The Executive Director of the Chips Joint Undertaking: granted discharge for the 2022 budget.
- Participating States: their contributions were not disclosed and they performed ex ante controls on national co-financing.¶¶
- Private members and industry associations: their in-kind contributions remain largely unvalidated.¶
Figures and deadlines
- EUR 1 172,5 million: private members' in-kind contributions remaining to be validated.¶
- EUR 1 169,7 million: maximum Union operational contribution fully committed for Horizon 2020 grant agreements.¶
- EUR 139,2 million (or 11,9 %): amount remaining to be paid for Horizon 2020 projects yet to be completed.
- EUR 1 579 million or 97,6 % of the minimum target of EUR 1 617.5 million: estimated private members' potential final in-kind contributions for Horizon 2020.¶
- EUR 406,5 million (or 25 %): validated industry in-kind contributions at the end of 2022.
- EUR 1 106,2 million (or 95 %): Participating States' signed contractual commitments at the end of 2022.¶
- EUR 495,3 million: total financial contributions declared by Participating States.
- EUR 10,9 billion: projects to be implemented under the 2021-2027 MFF.¶
Legal basis: Article 319 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union¶¶